Sovereignty of God

Of late, I have heard so many people say things like, “God has taken my mother home, her time had come” and “Oh well, I guess God wants me sick” and other comments that suggest that whatever goes on here, is either God doing it, or God allowing it.

This does not sit well with me. The bible says that all good things come from God, and that Jesus came so that we could have abundant life (John 10:10). It also says that God does not want anyone to die and go to hell (not accept Jesus) (2 Peter 3:9), but yet we all know that that does happen, so what is wrong?

Here is an article by Andrew Wommack, he goes into great detail, so I don’t need to here, so if you disagree with me, or want to comment, please read this article first to get the whole story.

One thing he doesn’t mention is that in the Lords prayer, one line is, “Your will on earth as it is in heaven..” This tells us a few things. God’s will in heaven is NOT what happens here, God wants His will done on earth, we have some influence over that. Sovereignty means that God is in ultimate command, not that everything that He wants will happen here on earth.

As Andrew mentions there are a few reasons why things go wrong here on earth, some of them we (as individuals) can correct in our lives, but some we can’t (unless the whole world gets on board), so why are we discussing this? Next time something happens, ask yourself if it is God’s will or not, would it happen in heaven, is it good? Then it is from God, otherwise it is not. Let’s not accept what is not from God, stand against it, pray against it, rebuke it!

I for one understand that if God is not always going to get what He wants, we may not always see God’s will being done, but I for one, will always stand for what God wants. In doing this, I can have more chance of seeing God’s will done in my life as God is the one who chooses my path (Jer 10:23), but I still need to follow it, that is exactly what I chose to do! Free will is the one thing that allows us to turn to God, but it is also the one thing that allows us to turn away from Him. Which way are you going to turn?

God bless you.

Richard

9 thoughts on “Sovereignty of God

  1. Hey Richard,
    thanks for your articles….thoughtful stuff.
    I agree, that all too often, people pass off stuff that happens as caused by God.
    Allow me, if I may, to share some thoughts…kind of thinking out loud if you like.
    I’ve read this blog, plus the Andrew Wommack one, and must admit to struggling a little – and it might be that I’m not fully getting what, particularly, AW is saying.
    I don’t think it’s as clear-cut as God’s sovereignty on one hand, within which he gives us total free will. I think, just by acknowledging that God is supreme, in control, sovereign, that actually defines for us what free will is…..free will (and interestingly the bible never uses that phrase I think), can only be free in so much as God allows it to be….because he is sovereign. so free will is not free will as humans like to think of it…it is only free within the parameters that God allows it.

    Now when it comes to sovereignty and human will interacting, when I read Scripture, I sense a wonderful mystery that is beyond my limited understanding. So for instance, Ex.7:3 tells us God will harden Pharaoh’s heart. Now that doesn’t excuse Pharoah for his action. It just somehow, says that even within Pharaoh’s actions, God is somehow also ordaining that. I can’t understand it. It makes my head hurt if I try. but that’s what it says.

    I think something similar is said about Judas.

    And then there’s Joseph at the end of Genesis…..”what you meant for evil, God intended for good.”

    And Paul in Romans 8:20 tells us that God was the one who subjected creation to frustration.

    And at least the notes in my study bible say that Paul’s thorn, whilst described as a “messenger of Satan” was still given to him by God.

    So, what am I wrestling with…the mystery that is God’s sovereignty on one hand, and our choice on the other…..it’s like predestination and free choice….I believe the bible teaches both….my human mind can’t understand it, but that doesn’t mean they both can’t be true.

    anyway, that’s my tuppence worth.

    hope you’re having a great week.

    God bless,

    Simon

    Like

    1. Hey Simon,

      Thanks for the comment. Yes, I don’t think it is as clear as our free will or God’s. On one hand we have God’s will, as it is in heaven, which is quite clearly not happening here. On the other hand, we have our ‘free will’ that allows us to do what we want to. The truth as to what is actually going on, is probably in the middle somewhere. Jesus makes comments like, “Your faith has healed you”, which would indicate that our faith is important. The disciples also couldn’t get rid of that demon, and Jesus got upset with them because they didn’t have the faith. This shows that our faith (and will) plays a part in this life.. Having said that, quite clearly God’s will also plays a part, as you have pointed out. This is why God tells us to protect our mind against the enemy, because if they can get into our heads, they can do real damage. They can confuse us into changing our will (away from that of the will of God) and they can influence our unbelief, which will counteract our belief and faith. The kingdom of God is here, but not yet here.

      One thing I must say is that I am hesitant to use Old Testament scripture in this argument. Not because I don’t believe it is relevant, just because Jesus said that He had come so that we may have abundant life, which means that we may not have had it before he came. Also, God wiped out entire nations in the OT just because they wouldn’t listen to Him, yet to my knowledge, He doesn’t strike down a single person in the New Testament. The people dropped dead when they lied about what they had given, but it doesn’t say that God did it. I know that we understand the difference between the Old and New Testaments, however, I think that it is so much more powerful than that. All the rules and regulations from the OT were covered by Jesus on the cross, so if there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus, then God has no reason to kill or harm us.

      Paul’s thorn in the side is a tricky one, in honesty, I’m not really sure what that deal was about, I’m still trying to figure that out (as I think most people are). Judas was ‘possessed’ by the devil. I imagine that he still had ‘free will’ but the devil found a weakness in him that could be exploited. Besides, it was still technically OT (before Jesus died).

      As for Andrew Wommack, I did agree with what he said, however there were some things that he didn’t say that I thought should have been brought up. I am aware that it probably isn’t as black and white as we would like it to be, I just wanted to make the point that we often give God ‘credit’ for stuff that he may not have wanted to happen. God doesn’t want us to suffer, nor does He want us to die without being saved, however this still happens.

      I would like to say that although this post was about what God doesn’t do, the important thing is about what God does do, He does take us out of the negative situations, and brings us into the positive. There are so many ‘success’ stories in the bible and since, that give glory to God for what He has done. That is what is important. I wrote this article because if we assume that God wants us to be sick, we can’t really pray for healing. Why would we pray against God’s will, should we not then pray to get sicker? Obviously not. That is why I wrote this, but as I said, the important stuff is what happens when we pray, when God steps in.. Why it happened in the first place is secondary.

      Thanks again for the comments, what I write is just me thinking through things, so I am always open to other suggestions.

      Chat soon.

      Richard

      Like

Leave a Reply

