Hallowhy?

So we had Halloween a few days ago, and now life is back to normal, forgotten as if it never happened. Going about my evening as I heard a few groups of children walk past, I got to thinking, with a few questions about Halloween rattling around in my head. Why do we celebrate it? Is it OK for Christians to celebrate it? Why are we trying to push this holiday in the UK, when it is more a US or Canadian holiday?

I think the first two questions are linked, in order to answer if it is OK for Christians to celebrate, we need to know why we celebrate it. I’m not going to go into details here, if you want to know why we celebrate it, google it and see. Bottom line is that it celebrates evil. I have seen so many articles (by Christians) saying that there is no big deal, it is what you make of it and there is nothing wrong with celebrating it. I don’t agree, but I do sympathise. Let me explain. When you think of Halloween there are things that come to mind – witches, magic, horrors, ghosts, haunted houses, darkness. Generally evil things. People try and avoid those things by dressing their kid up as a princess or something not associated with evil, but the reason for the day is still there, however you choose to celebrate it.

I do sympathise with parents though, as the media shoves Halloween down your throat for weeks beforehand, and the kids get all excited, so it is difficult not to do anything about it. This leads some parents to try and take part, without directly ‘celebrating evil’, and going for a more neutral approach with the princess outfits. I don’t have kids (yet), so I don’t know difficult it is not to partake in this holiday, and so I won’t pass judgement on parents that do get involved. The fact of the matter is that it is a day to ‘celebrate’ evil and, as far as I am concerned, I’d rather not get involved.

So why the big push to get it off the ground here in the UK? Is it because we want to ‘celebrate evil’? No. Most people don’t even think that it is evil, they think it is harmless (which it does appear to be). Stores want to sell products and they will do whatever they can to do that. If Tesco or ASDA have a Halloween advert on TV and have all of the products up in the store as moms with kids walk past, junior is almost certainly going to ask mom for a pumpkin or mask of sorts, and mom will probably get it to keep junior entertained while she does the shopping. The stores know this, and they bank on it, literally. That is why we are having it shoved down our throats. Is it really worth the hours getting the kids ready, just to walk around to find the 3 houses in the neighbourhood who actually have candy for the kids? You may as well have just bought them some snacks and let them scoff them at home. It is not a tradition here, but give the shops a chance and it will be – it is all about money.

I expect that people will read this and disagree with me, that’s fine, we are all entitled to our opinions and this is mine. I have cast out demons; I have an idea of what they are capable of, and the Bible says that we are here to fight powers and principalities (evil). I know that Halloween is not taken seriously by most people, and I know that 99% of people are not actively celebrating evil, but that is why the holiday was started. I for one would not like to even be part of something that celebrates the very thing that I am called to oppose, this is why I don’t want to celebrate Halloween. One day when we have kids, we may have to do something, maybe a dress up party of sorts with a different theme with all of the same ‘treats’. I don’t know yet, I’ll cross that bridge when I get there. Are there any parents out there who do alternative activities in order to avoid Halloween and not disappoint the kids?

I don’t mean to upset people with this, I just want to make my point, please read it as it was intended.

God bless,

Richard

Leave a Reply

