We Are Weak But He is Strong

This is a phrase that although is true, I believe is often used out of context, in this post I will attempt to explain why. It also goes hand in hand with phrases like, “We need to wait for God to get involved because we can’t do it.” Possibly true, but a bit inaccurate.

The reason why I say that this is not entirely accurate is because the Bible says that when we believe in Jesus and accept His gift, we are a new being. It says that we are born again as a new creation, an heir to the throne. We are then adopted into God’s family. Brothers and sisters with Christ. Does that not give us power and authority? Are we still weak and pathetic, or have things changed?

You see there are generally two camps where this is involved. You get one side who always claim to be weak, yet God is so strong and we need Him to do everything. The other side implies that we do not need God because we are strong and we determine our future, but I don’t think either are true. I believe that since accepting Jesus, I have the Holy Spirit, which means that I have authority in Jesus to do certain things. Remember that Jesus left us to spread the gospel, make disciples, heal the sick and cast out demons etc. He was here showing us how to do it, and now He has left us here to get on with it and left The Holy Spirit to empower us.

Now don’t get me wrong, I know where the power comes from so I always acknowledge that it comes from God. I don’t think for a second that I can do it on my own. However seeing as God is now part of me, and I part of Him, telling people that I (a new creation in Christ) am weak, is suggesting that God (in me) is weak too. That is just not true. I know people who say this don’t mean that God is weak, but they do need to be careful as that is the conclusion that people may come to. Besides, the bible says that WE can do all things through Christ who gives us strength. WE can do all things, He supplies the power, we do the action. To say that we are weak and He is strong may be true, but He is in us which makes us (the combination or new creation) strong too.

The only reason why I am saying this is because I don’t want us to sell ourselves short. Especially when we are in Christ, we can’t sell ourselves short. So many times I have heard the title phrase being used as an excuse not to do what God has called us to do because we are ‘waiting for God to do it for us’. God has given us a job to do, and we need Him to do it, but He wants us to be involved. He has given us the responsibility and authority here on earth to do what we need to do, and He will provide the power as and when we need it. And with God backing us, we are anything but weak, we are strong! Strong in Christ!

I pray that we realise who we are in Him, and that we step out boldly in His power and authority in order to accomplish what He has set aside for us to do!

Amen!

Richard

4 thoughts on “We Are Weak But He is Strong

  1. Very good. If I might be able to add my thoughts as well.

    I do be believe that apart from Christ, we are indeed weak, we are dead, but with Him we are all that and more. I firmly boast in my weakness (2 Corinthians 11:30), for in my confession of them I believe it does something in my dependence on Him.

    I am not one to walk around pessimistic or “weak minded”, but the boasting of my weakness is the boasting of His strength in me.

    How other people understand this concept, I am not sure, but for me, I know that without God, I am nothing. He is my Savior. And I am strong because He is strong.

    Great post sir. Really enjoyed it.

    Like

    1. When keeping a post to a certain size, it is difficult to include everything, so I am glad you made this comment. I agree with you, acknowledging our weaknesses shows God’s strength, and that is important. The main reason I wrote this post is because I am tired of seeing Christians use the ‘I am weak’ part to put themselves down. So much so that I have heard people say that God can’t use them as they are too weak.. I wanted to show them that their strength doesn’t matter as it is not their strength but God’s, and He is anything but weak! People tend to speak negatively over their lives due to their lack of strength, where as we should be speaking over our lives based on God’s strength as He is the one supplying the strength in us! Thanks again for your post.

      Like

  2. Christ Jesus can and shall give us strength. But he can not do anything without his Father, the Only One God, Who is the One to Whom we all should give honour and should trust.

    Like

Leave a Reply

