Looks Like We’ll Need a Bigger Gun!

I don’t usually publish blog posts straight away, as I am usually two or three posts ahead. However, this is a brand new post and the others will have to wait. I think that this addresses a huge problem amongst Christians. I have touched on it before but today is the day that I take it on, head on.

Last night I had a dream, which was a rather strange one to say the least. But what I believe it represents is a huge deal and an important step forward for Christians! I dreamt that I was in a shop, buying a gun. It was just a supermarket, but I was there to buy a gun (as you do). The salesman was showing me the hand guns, saying that they were perfect for self defence. I turned to him and said the strangest thing. I said, “I’m not on the defensive, I’m on the offensive. I’ll need a bigger gun”, as I gestured to the automatic rifles on the wall! When I woke up I was thinking about this and, as I by no means condone guns or violence, I think it was a spiritual metaphor.

This morning in church the preacher spoke on Ephesians 2:10, and said that we need to accept God’s acceptance of us and that we are in a covenant with Him! They said that we are the link between heaven and earth and that we are called to ‘administer’ what goes on in heaven here on earth! What a relevant and powerful message, it hit the nail on the head as far as I am concerned. Now, let me ask you this question. What are we doing about this? We are children of the Living God, we have the Holy Spirit leading us – the very Spirit of God that enabled Jesus! We are made righteous in the eyes of God, we are seen by Him as more than conquerors! We are a new creation, and God has a plan for our lives, not to harm us but to give us life and life in abundance. He has given us spiritual gifts in order to help us achieve what He has called us to do. Yet most of us are content with just ‘getting by’. Why is that?

You see, we have been conditioned to think that we need to defend ourselves against the devil. This is in fact what the devil has told us, because he doesn’t want to have to defend himself against us… because he can’t. Don’t get me wrong, there are times when we need to defend ourselves, but we shouldn’t get into a defensive mindset. Jesus has won already and has given us the authority that we require. We are not called to defend ourselves, we are called to go on the offensive. We are here to fight sin, poverty, sickness, mental illnesses, depression, hurt, violence, hatred and all other things that are not of God! It upsets me when I hear people say, “Lord, if it’s Your will, please heal this person”. It is His will; how do I know? Is there sickness in heaven? No. Does the Lord’s prayer not say that we should pray for God’s will on earth as it is in heaven? Jesus tells us to talk to the mountain and tell it to move, believe it will move, and then it will! Next time try commanding (instead of praying) this, “Sickness (name the specific one), get out and leave this person in the name of Jesus!”. I bet you’re thinking that if you prayed like that you may get chucked out of the church! Do it, you’ll be better off finding a church which prays that! How do I know this? I have done it (been chucked out of church for using my authority in Christ).

I have heard Christians say to me, “Yes, but you have the authority, I don’t.” What??!! Romans 10:9 says, If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. If you are saved, you have that authority! The only difference between these people and me is that I know I have it and I use it! We settle for not letting the devil win, when we should be sending him running for his life! If our God is for us what can be against us? We are more than conquerors!

I have realised that the main reason why we don’t act like conquerors is because we don’t see ourselves as God does. This is because we don’t read the Bible enough and we let others teach us what they think is right. I have said before, and I’ll say it again, listening to pastors and teachers is wonderful, but it does not exclude us from reading, meditating on and understanding scripture for ourselves. The portion of scripture you read is like the gun in the dream, and I for one am going on the offensive, so I’ll need a bigger gun!

Richard

6 thoughts on “Looks Like We’ll Need a Bigger Gun!

  1. VERY, VERY good post!!! Indeed we are given authority through the Holy Spirit to do, as it is said by Jesus in the book of John, “..even greater things than I.”
    I take a LOT of comfort and boldness from that statement by Jesus. If HE said WE could do greater things than HE DID….Well oh my goodness we definitely have an abundance of authority!!! So yes, we need to pray with such authority, and if our church has a problem with that, then we will just have to find one that does not–totally agree.

    Wanna hear something miraculously odd? I too dreamed about buying a gun last night. I rode a bicycle, of all things, to a department store, and was looking for a Remington 11-87, 12 gauge. While I was there, there was a “shady character” type fella that asked me if I would evaluate his gun training, then proceeded to write his contact info on the back of a business card, but didn’t include his name. I then asked the guy, “You’re not some whack-o trying to just get me there and kill me are ya?” Then I woke up.

    I remember during the dream thinking of telling my wife that it was just too odd and that I wouldn’t go, but that part of it is so hazy I don’t dare try to detail it.

    Here’s where I need to point a couple very small details out, and I beg you to just read the following and do not take it personally. It is not intended to be personal, hurtful, or anything of the sort. It is simply that some of the phrases/language you used concern me.

    1. Guns are inanimate and therefore cannot be agreed with or disagreed with; they also are not violent.
    It follows that there are some people who are violent to begin with, and they may or may not choose a gun to use to commit violent acts. Please don’t blame the gun. For instance, because my wife is sick, I didn’t go to church this morning, so my carry gun is on my belt, locked in the holster….I can tell it right now to unholster itself and go shoot my next door neighbor. I will be more likely to see the Second Coming than to see my pistol hop out of it’s holster and do violence. Just please think about this.

    Again, LOVED this post and THANK YOU for sharing it!!!!!!
    Blessings 🙂
    ~S~

    Like

    1. Thanks for that comment Sean.

      Thanks for the encouragement.. Glad you liked the post!

      Just to clarify, I have no issues with guns. It is like people who blame facebook for being evil and encouraging sin.. Facebook is a website, it is the people using facebook that are encouraging sin! The same applies for guns, gins don’t kill people, people do. The only reason why I put that there is because I occasionally get people reading my posts and taking things out of context. I didn’t want them thinking that they needed a gun to be a good Christian 🙂

      I am originally from South Africa where guns are fairly common, but here in the UK where I live, there are very strict anti-gun (actually any weapon) laws, so I didn’t want to seem to be opposed to those laws.

      I used the gun metaphor merely because of the dream. I neither condone or condemn the use of guns (in defence). I do condemn violence though!

      Seeing as there are no guns (or very little) on the streets in the UK, it does make me feel safer. If there were guns around though, I’d rather they be in the hands of responsible, law-abiding citizens than criminals.

      Thanks again for the comment!

      Richard

      Like

      1. Richard: Okies, all clear! Had I realized you were in the UK, I would have known the situation, and would not have even mentioned it. In the USA, there are a LOT of anti-gun people who like to use every chance they can get to curse violence with guns. Granted, guns CAN be used for violence, but I don’t condone that either, just like you. I am disgusted daily by the people who are unnecessarily killed in the USA by violent people who choose a gun as their weapon to do harm.

        I am in the process of becoming a competition pistol shooter myself, and people like that just make things harder on guys like me as such relates to my legally owned, safely stored, carefully used firearms…that’s all.
        Thanks for the response regarding my “issue” and thanks for understanding and being so kind.

        Regardless, your post is awesomely relevant and good!! Love to see stuff like this blogged!

        Take care & God Be With You!
        ~S~

        Like

Leave a Reply

