Houston, We Have a Problem

Of late I have written some posts which have ruffled a few feathers, it is not my intention to upset people, but I will always speak what I consider to be the truth. Unfortunately, people don’t always like people speaking things that don’t agree with what they believe. I make no apology for what I say, but it is not my intention to upset anyone. As usual, I am always open to alternative opinions, just be polite when posting them. This post could be seen as controversial, so read it all, check out the scripture and then make up your mind.

The first thing is that I do not believe that God always has His will here on earth. Shock, horror. Yes, I said it. Let’s have a look at 1 Timothy 2:3-4 which says, “For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Saviour, who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.” This means that God wants everyone to be saved and go to heaven. Now Matthew 7:14 says, “Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it.” Which means that actually, most people won’t go to heaven. Now all of those people who were shouting heretic when I made the initial statement, what do we make of that? I think it is pretty clear. If you think that this means that God is not sovereign, that is not the case, it just means that we need to be clear on what sovereign means. Have a look at Sovereignty Of God for more about this.

So if God does not always get His will here, who is in charge here? Well, we know that the devil roams like a lion, but who has authority from God here on earth? Well, in short, us! Genesis 1:26-28 says, “Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness; let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over the cattle, over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.” So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them. Then God blessed them, and God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply; fill the earth and subdue it; have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over every living thing that moves on the earth.””. Now we have free will whether to follow God’s will or not. Now I know that will provoke some people who think that we all just do what God tells us to, but I disagree. Firstly, 1 Corinthians 9:24 says, “Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it.” This would indicate that we have a choice as to how to do this ‘race of life’, and we are called to ‘run’ it in a manner that would win us the ‘prize’. Let’s have a look at a simple analogy. If I meet you face to face, I have the choice whether to shake your hand, or slap you through the face. What would God have me do? I think it is safe to say that He would rather I shake your hand. I have the choice. I could slap you. If I did, I would be acting outside of God’s will. Now you see where some people get confused is that Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” This means that God will work it for your good, He doesn’t necessarily plan or will it. So even if I choose to act outside of His will and slap you, He will still work it together for your good if you follow Him. That is one of those amazing things about the gospel, another reason why it is called the good news!

So if all of this is true, and the reason why we are in such a mess is because we are in charge and we do not follow the will of God, what can we do about that? Well firstly, we need to know the will of God in order to follow it. Go and read your bible. I have used a few verses here and have only shared individual verses, I encourage you to go and read whole chapters or even books of the bible, in order to get the whole story. You need to confirm what I have said here. Secondly we need to change our attitude and the way we do things. Here are a few that come to mind. Stop asking God to send a revival and go out and be the revival. He has sent us out to make disciples, and we have the Holy Spirit to enable us to do so. Stop asking God to heal someone and use the authority you have in Him to heal someone. Look at how Jesus and the disciples did it, that will give you a good indication of how we should be doing it. Stop asking God to minister to you and go and minister to someone. I can honestly say that I have been more blessed by ministering to others than others ministering to me. It is about our attitude and us understanding who we are in Christ and what that means. It is all about Him, and I’m not suggesting for a second that we don’t need Him. I’m saying we already have Him, now what are we going to do with Him!

I will leave you with Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Richard

One thought on “Houston, We Have a Problem

Leave a Reply

