Monkey See, Monkey Do

I have noticed something of late, which is not rocket science, but we need to be aware of it. We are influenced by the things we see, the people we spend time with and even the TV that we watch. Yes, everything we come into contact with has an impact on us, and influences our decisions in some way. This is why sports brands will pay millions of dollars to have an athlete wear their products. We see the athlete in a brand, we like the athlete, so we buy the brand. We don’t think about it or discuss it, it is all just in our minds, but we still take the action that the advertising company banked on. Have you ever been to watch a new James Bond movie, and then when you come out of the cinema, you’re watching everyone like you’re some kind of spy? You could also just listen in the car park after the Fast and the Furious viewers come out of the cinema, everyone revving their engines and racing off like crazed maniacs. What we watch has an influence on us, whether we think it does or not. That is why advertising is such a money-making deal, because it works.

Since I was made aware of this, I have noticed that so many adverts are anti-Christianity. Now I’m not saying that they come out and oppose us, I’m saying that if you watch them and listen to what they are saying, and then compare it with scripture, you’ll see what I mean. There is a beauty product that says, “I trust science, not miracles”. What they mean is that they trust scientific research over ‘miracle creams’, but what is that telling your sub-conscience, what is that putting into your mind? There is another one where the kid comes in and drops his bag on the floor and his mother says, “If you don’t pick that up you won’t come on holiday”. Then the kid says, “Holiday, really? Cool!” and runs off… without picking up the bag. Now I’m not a parent yet, but surely making an unrealistic threat like that is not good parenting, and surely if he didn’t pick it up he shouldn’t go on holiday? There is even an advert now for vodka, which shows serpents pouring vodka for an Adam and Eve type setting. They are actually using the symbol for the devil, depicting sin, to sell a product.

So, am I over-reacting or do I have a point? Some people may think that I am over-reacting, and that we shouldn’t, and can’t, keep ourselves wrapped in cotton wool. I’m not saying that we shouldn’t watch TV or wrap ourselves in cotton wool, I’m saying that we need to be aware of what is going on. We need to be spending time reading and meditating on the Word so that when we see these things, we recognise them for what they are, and we reject what they are saying to our minds. When I see the advert about trusting science and not miracles, I say, “Actually, I trust God, and He uses miracles!” I know it is cheesy, and I don’t want it to become a religious practice, I want us to actually take note what is going into our minds, sift it through the ‘Biblical-filter’ and reject what is not from God. 2 Corinthians 10 verse 5 says, “[Inasmuch as we] refute arguments and theories and reasonings and every proud and lofty thing that sets itself up against the [true] knowledge of God; and we lead every thought and purpose away captive into the obedience of Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One).” This is telling us to do what I just said, to ‘think about what we are thinking about’!

I have written another post about this entitled ‘Think about it..‘ so I won’t go into it again, but I think that this is very important. Just about every Joyce Meyer sermon and book is about protecting your mind. Now you may not like her, but there is more than enough Biblical evidence to back up what she is saying and what I am saying here. So please, make sure that you take note of all of the things you see, hear and think, weigh them up against what the Bible says, and then reject what is not from God. We may not be led astray by one thought, but we are constantly being bombarded by ungodly things all day long, so we need to be aware. All of these thoughts add up and, next thing we know, we’re on the wrong path and we wonder where things went wrong.

Protect your mind.

Richard

PS. This is my 49th post, number 50 is next! I thought that for the 50th post, we’d just celebrate who Jesus is and what He did for us, so don’t miss it on Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “Monkey See, Monkey Do

Leave a Reply

