Thank You for the Music

I have had a small issue of late, nothing too dramatic, but something that has come to my attention. So many worship songs are not actually biblical (as far as I’m concerned). They sound good, and they have what seems to be all the right words, but technically they are not actually true. I am not going to name songs or artists as I don’t want this to become a mud slinging match, as most artists (even some of my favourite) have some songs that are questionable. I must also say that there are plenty of good, biblical songs out there, and even the ‘incorrect’ ones are still uplifting. Up to this point, you may be getting rather defensive and thinking that I am being unreasonable, but let me explain what I mean.

Most praise and worship songs are OK, but some of them may contain one or two lines that are not entirely true, or slightly misleading. Just to give an example, songs that talk about bringing us into the Holy of Holies. Are we not already there? When Jesus died, did the curtain not tear to let us in? So why are we still asking to go it? You see the sentiment behind the song is fine, the desire to be with God is excellent, but it is not entirely true. There are also others that imply that we need to do something before God will bless us or show up. Not going to mention any specifics here, but just bear it in mind next time you are in church singing, and you’ll see what I mean.

Now please don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that we should boycott these songs, and I am not casting a shadow over the artists. I am merely saying that we should pay more attention to what we are singing. If you are a worship leader, possibly spend a bit of time going through the songs to see if you agree to the lyrics before choosing them. My dad has a pet hate, and that is a song that has made its way into the list of Christmas songs, which I have to agree shouldn’t be there. Listen to the lyrics of ‘When a child is born’. It is supposedly about Jesus, but if you listen to it, it is completely incorrect. In fact, biblically, it makes more sense if it is about the anti-christ (if you believe him to be a person) than Jesus. Either it is and we are oblivious, or the writer intended it to be about Jesus and just got it horribly wrong. Now this one is bad, but most worship songs that have issues, are not as dramatic as this.

Having said all of this, I still value praise and worship and the people that make it possible for the rest of us to sing along. In fact, I heard this a song the other day and really like the lyrics. Here it is.

Lost are saved; find their way; at the sound of your great name
All condemned; feel no shame, at the sound of your great name
Every fear; has no place; at the sound of your great name
The enemy; he has to leave; at the sound of your great name

Jesus, Worthy is the Lamb that was slain for us, Son of God and Man
You are high and lifted up; and all the world will praise your great name

All the weak; find their strength; at the sound of your great name
Hungry souls; receive grace; at the sound of your great name
The fatherless; they find their rest; at the sound of your great name
Sick are healed; and the dead are raised; at the sound of your great name

Jesus, Worthy is the Lamb that was slain for us, Son of God and Man
You are high and lifted up; and all the world will praise your great name

Redeemer, My Healer, Lord Almighty
My saviour, Defender, You are My King

(Your Great Name, written by Michael Neale & Krissy Nordhoff)

Let the words we sing be what we want to say. Don’t just sing for the sake of it. Mean what you sing, and sing what you mean.

Thank you for the music!

Richard

2 thoughts on “Thank You for the Music

  1. Hmm, I hadn’t thought of that. It’s true, unfortunately. Some songs might not be as accurate as we would like with each line. Isn’t the point behind the whole song that’s what’s important though? Especially when it comes to reaching specific types of people who can only be reached through the music genre.

    Interesting post. God bless!

    My own blog post on some contemporary Christian music that might be worth checking out:
    http://sowhatimachristianteen.blogspot.com/2014/03/my-top-5-favorite-christian-music.html

    Like

  2. Thanks Selys for the comment.. You see the Bible is pretty clear about what we speak over ourselves and others,(check out
    https://walkonwaterministries.wordpress.com/2013/10/18/mind-your-tongue-3/ for more) and singing is really the same as what we speak over ourselves. When we sing we are declaring things out loud and speaking things over us and others.. That is why worship is so powerful, if you spoke over yourself like that even without singing it would have a similar effect. Now when the worship songs are not Biblical, however slightly off-course, we are in fact speaking a lie over us.

    The problem is that we think that it is still good because it is about God, and it is better than singing something else, but we forget that when the devil spoke to Eve (and Jesus) he only twisted the truth slightly and look at the trouble he caused. I’m not saying that it is from the devil, I’m just saying that maybe the artist has got it slightly wrong and we need to think about what we are singing about. I wouldn’t stand and speak something over myself that I don’t believe to be the truth, so I won’t do it in song either. That is all.

    Thanks again for the comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

