Selfishness

After the last post about or authority over demons, I thought I’d chat about something else in this post. Selfishness. This, in my opinion is the biggest issue in the world today. I know that you’re probably busy thinking of another ‘bigger’ issue, but let’s just do a quick test. Think of any problem in the world today that doesn’t have selfishness in it somewhere. People starving? There is plenty of food, we just don’t distribute it properly. People in some countries eating themselves to death with obesity, while others starve. Poverty? I’m not even going to give an answer there as it is obvious. War? Genocide? Hatred? Murders? Rape? Theft? It all comes down to someone being selfish.

Let’s have a look at what the Bible says about it. Philippians 2:3-4 says, “Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too.” So here is the cracker. Are you selfish? You may not have done any of the things mentioned in the opening paragraph, but are you selfish? I think that we all have to put our hand up to a certain extent. We may not be a particularly selfish person, but everyone is selfish at some point or another.

You may be reading this and thinking that you are not too selfish, and you may even be comparing yourself to someone who is more selfish than you. If you’re doing this, be careful. It is not about comparing yourself to someone else, it is about rooting all of the rubbish out of your life. I’m reading this as I am typing it and it is making me feel a little uncomfortable. I am also selfish. I usually look out for me first, and then others. I could pat myself on the back and say that at least I look out for others, but that is not good enough. It was not good enough for Jesus, it shouldn’t be good enough for us. What if Jesus had thought of himself, and taken satan’s offer in the desert (to rule the kingdoms)? Where would that have left us? I’d rather not even think about it, I’m forever grateful that Jesus thought of us first.

I must also use one of my favourite verses here (Romans 8:1) and say that there is no condemnation for believers. I am not trying to lay a guilt trip on myself or anyone else, I am merely encouraging everyone to think of others before themselves. Imagine a world where everyone thought of others before themselves. Imagine how much better that would be than what we have now. I know that we can’t necessarily change the world, but we can change our lives. You may even find that you’re blessed more abundantly by putting others first, crazy idea, but that is often how the kingdom of God works.

The Bible says that the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil, some people quote it as saying that money is a root of all evil, which is just not true. What is the love of money if not selfishness? Could we re-word it to read ‘selfishness is the root of all evil’? It makes sense. Think about it. Let’s think about how we can be less selfish. You never know, we may even encourage others to do the same. I leave you with James 3:16-17, which says, “For wherever there is jealousy and selfish ambition, there you will find disorder and evil of every kind. But the wisdom from above is first of all pure. It is also peace loving, gentle at all times, and willing to yield to others. It is full of mercy and good deeds. It shows no favouritism and is always sincere.”

Change the world, one unselfish act at a time.

Richard

2 thoughts on “Selfishness

  1. Very good perspective. I believe when Jesus called for us to surrender “self”, he made the point it was the root of all our problems, anxiety and ultimately sin. Thanks, have a great weekend. Coach

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

