Extreme or Necessary?

I am an Andrew Wommack fan. I watch his programmes, read his literature, and I often dream of doing what he does. I find myself wanting to have the faith that he has, and be able to minister like he does. I am nowhere near the level where he is. This reminds me of a story where an audience member at an orchestra concert was talking to the pianist. The person said to the pianist that he would do anything to be able to play like him. The pianist said that that was not true. He then went on to explain that if anyone wanted to be a concert pianist, they needed to practice for hours every day. The fact that this person was not prepared to do this, showed that they wouldn’t do ‘anything’ to play like him. This is true. How many hours does Andrew spend with God a day? How much studying does he do?

I believe that some of these well known Christian writers and evangelists don’t read the paper, they don’t own (or watch) a TV, they just submerge themselves in the Word. I don’t do this. Could that be why I don’t reach the same heights that they do? Probably. Yes, I spend time with God, and I don’t watch the news or read newspapers, but I do spend time watching TV and messing around on facebook and the like. Now please don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that we shouldn’t allow ourselves to do these things, I am merely saying that the choice of what we spend our time on is ours. Our relationship with God will only be as strong as we allow it. Just like any other relationship, if you don’t put the time in, it won’t be as successful as it can be. Fortunately God is faithful, so He will never let us go, but if we want to soar with Him we need to put in the time.

I mentioned that I don’t read the paper or watch news on the TV, this includes news websites online. I make it a point not to read them. Some people say that this is extreme, but I don’t agree. Firstly, do you believe everything that you see in the news? That is a risky game as you don’t know where it comes from and what their intentions are. Even if you do, shouldn’t we be focussing on God? Look at what happened to Peter as he was walking on the water, took his eyes off of Jesus and focused on the storm. The news draws our attention to the storm. I would prefer to focus on Jesus. So how do we do this? Simple. Read the Bible.

2 Timothy 3:14-17 says, “But you must remain faithful to the things you have been taught. You know they are true, for you know you can trust those who taught you. You have been taught the holy Scriptures from childhood, and they have given you the wisdom to receive the salvation that comes by trusting in Christ Jesus. All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. God uses it to prepare and equip his people to do every good work.” This is what I am after, this is all that I need.

Just as I don’t reach the heights of Andrew Wommack, many people don’t reach the heights that they wish to reach, because they don’t put in the required effort. I have chosen to put my faith in Jesus, and I have chosen to base my life on His word. I have chosen to ignore what the world is trying to tell me. What have you decided? What are you focused on? Jesus or the storm? Scripture or the newspapers? I know that some people think that this is extreme, it may be, but others are even more so. Just decide where your faith lies, and fix your eyes there.

Keep the faith.

Richard

2 thoughts on “Extreme or Necessary?

  1. I see your abstaining from consuming the news “of the world” as very wise. You’re keeping your focus on God.

    I also, have been media fasting for the past 2 years. And now I have the eyes to see what God wants me to see. I can see what is real and righteous and what is empty and sinful. Even media of the world brings forth spiritual messages that God would have me extract. It’s as if God is protecting my eyes, mind and heart from the things of this world.

    More people should follow your lead, in that respect. God bless you.

    Like

  2. Thanks very much. When I used to watch the news I would be left feeling angry, anxious and upset. Whenever I was finished reading the Bible, I would be left feeling uplifted, positive and excited. I realised that watching the news was just me focusing on the storm, when I needed to be focusing on Jesus. We are not here to fight flesh and blood but powers and principalities, the news focuses on the flesh and blood, the bible teaches us how to fight the powers and principalities. Thanks for your comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

