Sodzo

Here is a topic that I have spoken about before, but I’m going to talk about it again, as I keep seeing posts and articles in contrast to scripture. Please don’t get me wrong, I used to oppose this too, but I have now heard the truth and there is no going back. The word Sodzo (pronounced sozo) is the Greek word where salvation comes from. This means that Romans 10:9 could be read as “If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be sodzo” We, as Christians, have no problem believing this – we can’t wait for someone to confess this, so that we can welcome them into the family, and rightly so. It doesn’t end there. Sodzo also means healed. I am talking about physical healing from illness, disease or handicap. Actually, the word Sodzo covers healing, salvation, deliverance and protection. Jesus died so that we could have them all, not just salvation.

Now, all of a sudden, the belief drops drastically. A whole lot of excuses start to make their way into our minds. “Jesus died for our sins so that we could be saved, He didn’t die for our health”. Rubbish. 1 Peter 2:24 says ”He personally carried our sins in his body on the cross so that we can be dead to sin and live for what is right. By his wounds you are healed.” Also, Galatians 3:13 says “But Christ has rescued us from the curse pronounced by the law. When he was hung on the cross, he took upon himself the curse for our wrongdoing. For it is written in the Scriptures, “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a tree.” There is no doubt about it, Jesus died so that we can be healed. So why aren’t we? Doesn’t God always have His way? No. People misunderstand what sovereignty means. It doesn’t mean that you always get your way. If it did, Jesus wouldn’t have told us to pray “.. Your will on earth, as it is in heaven..”. God would always have His will, but He doesn’t. Now some of you are thinking that it is God who heals and not us, that is not entirely true. Before you start calling for my head, it is by God’s power, but we are called to use His power to heal, so the responsibility lies with us. Mark 16:17-18 says ”These miraculous signs will accompany those who believe: They will cast out demons in my name, and they will speak in new languages. They will be able to handle snakes with safety, and if they drink anything poisonous, it won’t hurt them. They will be able to place their hands on the sick, and they will be healed.” God’s power, our actions.

So then, why are people sometimes not healed? There are a few reasons but, for now, I would like to focus on the one which I believe to be the largest ‘culprit’. Faith. Look at the first line of Mark 16:17, These miraculous signs will accompany those who.. Believe. Not just in Jesus, but believe that the person will be healed. “Lord if it is your will please heal so-and-so, but if it isn’t, don’t worry” does not show faith at all. Besides, the example Jesus set for healing was that of telling the healing to happen, not praying. I don’t know where the idea for praying for healing came from, except maybe James 5:14. Really, the elders should know better. If you’re not quite convinced of this, Mark 11:22-24 says ”Then Jesus said to the disciples, “Have faith in God. I tell you the truth, you can say to this mountain, ‘May you be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’ and it will happen. But you must really believe it will happen and have no doubt in your heart. I tell you, you can pray for anything, and if you believe that you’ve received it, it will be yours.” Note also, the praying part came afterwards, the mountain was told to move. He didn’t say that we should ask God to move the mountain. Just saying.

Just in case you are using the scripture where Jesus declares that God’s will happen instead of His own, to try and justify that maybe God doesn’t want someone healed, here is another verse. Romans 8:11 says “The Spirit of God, who raised Jesus from the dead, lives in you. And just as God raised Christ Jesus from the dead, he will give life to your mortal bodies by this same Spirit living within you.” I believe that scripture is clear. God wants us healed (maybe not right this minute, but not necessarily only when we are in heaven, otherwise he wouldn’t have used the word ‘mortal’). Sometimes we are not healed. Instead of pinning this on God because ‘it isn’t His will’, maybe we are actually to blame. Us in the wrong? I know it is hard to believe, but I can’t see God being wrong. When I say us, I mean mankind, not just individuals. Sin, demons, unbelief, curses, lack of authority, lack of faith, and timing can all play a part in someone not being healed. Assuming that God doesn’t want someone healed, just because we pray and we don’t see healing, is wrong. People tell me that I am full of myself because I believe that I have authority over illness, but if you believe that it is God’s will that someone be ill because your prayers don’t work, who is actually full of themselves?

I have only touched on this topic here, if you are interested in knowing more, purchase this book and read it: God Wants You Well (despite what you may have heard…) (It is available on Amazon, search for it on your local Amazon website. Author: Alexander Roarke). It was written by a friend of mine and it covers this in much more detail. Next time someone comes up for healing, instead of praying, talk to the issue and tell it to go. Follow Jesus’ lead. Believe that it will happen. Talk to the ill person first, find out where their faith level is. Give them scripture to help them believe what God wants for them. I am still learning every day and this is a constant learning curve, but the more I learn, the more people I see healed.

You have the authority, use it.

Richard

3 thoughts on “Sodzo

  1. I have lost loved ones after long fights against illnesses and many prayers, including a 3 year old niece. I said that there were many reasons why healing may not happen, but I was looking at faith as that is one that we can work at changing. Please don’t think that I’m saying that someone wasn’t healed because you lacked faith. The main point of this post is that I was opposing was the fact that people say that others are not healed because it is God’s will that they are sick/injured. I don’t believe this to be true. I am trying to lift my life and experiences to the standard of scripture, and not bring scripture down to my experiences. I am merely trying to figure out what could be going wrong, based on scripture. It is not my intention to point fingers. There is no condemnation for those in Jesus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

