Your Attitude to Healing

I would like to start this post off by saying that I did not write this to pass judgement on anyone. If you read this post, and it upsets you, ask yourself why that is so. Is it because I have stepped out of line, or is it that this is a little close to something that you don’t really want to deal with? Remember, there is no condemnation for those in Christ Jesus, so it is not my intention to condemn, but rather to help everyone set themselves free. Having said that, let’s have a look at what I am so concerned about sharing.

I have written various posts about healing, physical healing, like Jesus and the disciples demonstrated in the gospels. Now days that seems to have been watered down in most Christian circles, to merely praying for healing. Now this is not a post about how we should command healing using our authority in Christ, rather than asking God to do it, I have covered that. This is a post about the attitude of the person receiving the healing. I know that when you are in a situation where you are staring down the business end of a serious illness, you may be rattled and may not be filled with faith, but I feel that some ‘natural’ responses could prevent you from being healed. Let me explain. When I was younger, I used to have the theory that if you didn’t expect anything good, you wouldn’t be disappointed if you didn’t receive it, yet it would be a bonus if you did. This was designed to protect me from disappointment, and make good things more exciting. I now know that this is wrong. Let’s have a look at some Bible stories to see how I know this.

Pick a Bible story about healing, any one, and answer one question. Did the person (or a representative) come to Jesus, or did Jesus go and find them to heal them? I think that you’ll find the first option far more prevalent. Why is this important? I believe that the faith of the person being healed plays a huge role. Now I know that some Christians disagree with me, but as of yet they haven’t been able to show me any scripture to change my mind. All of the healings described in the Bible required some level of faith from the person receiving the healing, or a representative. Now answer this question, if what I have said is true .What are your chances of being healed if you don’t believe you will be, and you don’t ask? If anyone knows of a Bible story where Jesus goes to someone’s home when they had accepted that they would be ill and nothing could be done, and convinced them otherwise or healed them anyway, please let me know. I don’t think there is one.

Now I am not saying that having faith is easy, and I am not saying that there is no risk involved. I know the risk. The risk of being disappointed if you are not healed, the risk of getting your hopes up and then possibly getting let down. The risk of believing. If the crippled guy on the rug and his friends didn’t believe, they wouldn’t have made such an effort to get him to Jesus, and he wouldn’t have been healed. If the woman in the crowd had been too afraid to believe, she wouldn’t have desperately grabbed for Jesus robe, and she would not have been healed. Do I need to go on? Do you think faith came easy to them? It may have been easier then because they could see Jesus, maybe we need to have more faith to believe, Jesus mentioned that when talking to ‘doubting’ Thomas. I have been on the ‘healing’ side more often that the ‘been healed’ side of healing, and I can tell you that both sides require faith. Do you think that it is easy to command someone to be healed? To get their hopes up, when there is a possibility that they won’t be healed? The devil uses this fear on both sides, to stop us from demonstrating God’s power.

So what do we do now? Read the scripture, read the healing stories and see first of all how Jesus and the disciples did it, and how the healed person approached them. If you need healing, read the scriptures to build your faith, same for the people doing the healing. Dare to believe that you can be healed. If you’re still unsure of this, may I recommend a book called, God Wants You Well (Despite what you may have heard) by Alexander Roarke (search for it on your local Amazon website).

Read Scripture. Believe Scripture. Act on Scripture.

Richard

3 thoughts on “Your Attitude to Healing

  1. Care to back that up with some scripture? Jesus did, Peter did, and we have been told to heal the sick. We have also been told that if we tell the mountain to move and have faith, it will move. I am more than prepared to listen to other beliefs, and I am even prepared to change mine, if scripture instructs it.

    Like

  2. Thank you for writing about this.

    It’s awesome how our heavenly Father deals with us individually, sick or not sick, for He has specific plans and He knows our individual tendencies…

    Like

Leave a Reply

