God’s Power, Our Actions.

Some of the posts that I have written in the past have been very well received, and others have received some opposition. Some have even generated a rather abusive response. I used to get upset when people opposed me, but then I realised that people opposed Jesus to the point of killing Him, so I can endure a little opposition on social media. I have a suspicion that this post will be one that will either change your life in a positive way (if you embrace it), or it will really anger you (if you don’t agree). Please keep in mind that I am not trying to upset anyone, I am merely teaching what I believe to be the truth, based on scripture. If you do want to counter my views, please at least use relevant scripture and do it nicely.

After all of that, let’s get on to this contentious issue. God needs us to perform actions so that He can perform miracles. There, I said it. Now before you all start frantically writing back with angry replies, have a look at my reasoning. Mark 6:5 says, “And because of their unbelief, he couldn’t do any miracles among them except to place his hands on a few sick people and heal them.” This is taking about Jesus, He couldn’t do any miracles in this place because of the people’s unbelief. Now unbelief and belief is an interesting concept, most of us has belief, we just have too much unbelief. That is why we don’t see miracles, but that is for another post. It is clear here that Jesus (who is God), could not do miracles because of actions of people. So does this mean that God is not sovereign? No. He is. Have a look at my post entitled ‘Sovereignty of God‘ for more, but the bottom line is that sovereignty does not mean that you always get your way.

Let’s have a look at another example. Ezekiel 37:1-14 is the passage about the valley of the dry bones. Every time God said to Ezekiel to prophesy over the bones, he did, and then the miracle happened. If he hadn’t spoken the words, would the miracles still have happened? I don’t believe that they would have. I have also done a previous post entitled ‘Mind Your Tongue‘ which talks about this in more detail. The words that we speak are extremely important, we can speak life or death over ourselves or each other. Is every word that comes out of your mouth according to God’s will? No. So if our words speak life or death, and our words are not always according to God’s will, how can God’s will always happen?

I know that this may be hard to take in, especially if you are not on board with this theology, but I just want you to go and think about this. Go and read the scriptures and see if what I am saying is in fact true. I believe that it is and it has changed my life, I want you to have the same revelation. Please note what I am NOT saying, before you retaliate. I am not saying that God is our puppet and He does what we want. I am saying that our actions need to be in line with what God wants in order to see results. I am not saying that we do this in our strength. God’s power, our actions. God wants everyone saved, and the Holy Spirit leads us all to Christ, yet if you don’t accept Him, believe and confess, you won’t be saved. His power, our actions. Healing is a classic example of this, I know pastors who believe that Jesus picks and chooses who he heals, and this is why some people are not healed. The Bible says that by His stripes we WERE healed. Look at all of the passages regarding healing, does Jesus ever go and find someone and say to them, “You didn’t ask for healing, but I am going to heal you anyway.”? I doubt it. People always made an effort to get to Him to be healed. Some even endangered their lives just to get to Him. That shows maximum belief and minimum unbelief. God’s power, our actions. Jesus taught the disciples to command healing, talk to the mountain and tell it to move, then believe and it will move. God’s power, out actions. Why have we watered this down to, “God if it is Your will, please heal me.” It is His will, God said that you WERE healed by Jesus’ stripes.

Now please don’t misunderstand, this is not as condemnation. I have also lost loved ones who died from illnesses, and at the time I believed that it was God’s will. I now don’t believe that anymore. I don’t beat myself up, and I am definitely not condemning you either. I am saying that we should learn from this, so that next time, we get better results. God’s will on earth as it is in Heaven. I hope that this has given you some food for thought. It doesn’t answer all of the questions, in fact it may have just created some more, but I will deal with them over time. Just think about this concept, and then read the scriptures and see how the Spirit leads you.

There is nothing wrong with God’s power, what is wrong with our actions? How can we change them to be in line with God’s will? What can we do to see God’s will on earth as it is in heaven?

Be blessed.

Richard

One thought on “God’s Power, Our Actions.

  1. I totally agree with everything you said. We, as Christians, are called to be the Body of Christ. We are His arms and feet, to go into the world and love people. We are also the salt and light of the world. God chose us for such a time as this. We are living in the last days, we should be reflecting the love of Christ and sharing the Gospel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

