Time to Acts – Part 2

I am doing a series on Acts, one chapter at a time to see what we can learn, this is about chapter 2. I know that I may get out a different lesson to what you may, that is one of the beauties about the Bible, every time you read it you get something new out. It doesn’t matter how often you read it, you will always learn. I also don’t go too deep into each chapter, just pull out a few things that speak to me. I encourage you to go and read the relevant chapters and see what God has to say to you. Here we go with chapter 2.

And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak with other tongues, as the Spirit gave them utterance. Acts 2:4 is talking about the believers, God sends His Spirit down, and they start speaking in other languages. Other languages that are heard and understood by foreigners. This is awesome, as I think sometimes people can fake tongues, yet if you start speaking an actual language (understood by other humans) that you yourself don’t understand, then that is definitely God at work. This must have been an amazing time for the Christians, experiencing this for the first time. This can also be a lesson to us today. So often I have experienced amazing ministry trips or God-encounters, and they are almost always followed up with someone trying to cast doubt. Look at verse 13. Others mocking said, “They are full of new wine.”. Typical. There is always someone who is trying to come against what God is doing. Sometimes it is an atheist, sometimes a non-believer, and sometimes sadly it is a believer.

I think that the thing here is to ignore the opposition and concentrate on what God is doing. If we get distracted by the waves, and take our eyes off of Jesus, we will start to sink. The opposition that we face after an awesome God-encounter, is nothing but a ‘wave’ sent to distract us. Keep your eyes on Jesus. I am ‘preaching’ this but the truth is that I struggle to follow it. I don’t do this blog because I have learned everything and now I am trying to teach you, I write this blog as I learn as I wish to help as many others as I can. It is hard to keep focussing on Jesus when we are facing problems here. That is exactly why we need to keep our eyes on Jesus. We can’t do it on our own.

If you are wondering how I managed to get all of that from two verses of scripture, have a look further down in verse 42 and 43. And they continued steadfastly in the apostles’ doctrine and fellowship, in the breaking of bread, and in prayers. Then fear came upon every soul, and many wonders and signs were done through the apostles. The apostles carried on doing what they were doing, carrying on fixing their eyes on Jesus and ignoring what the enemy had to say, and they did many signs and wonders and it goes on to say that people were added to them every day. Are you seeing signs and wonders? Are you seeing people coming to know Jesus? If not, you need to ask yourself why not. Have you maybe taken your eyes off of Jesus and fixed them on your problems? I ask this not as condemnation, but because I often fall into this trap too. I have to decide to keep focused on Jesus, it doesn’t always come naturally, it is not easy. I have decided to do it as I know that is what is best for me, and I want to be more like Jesus.

I hope that this post has given you something to think about. Please take it as an encouragement and not condemnation. It does not matter what you have done in the past, you can always do what is right in the future, so make the change now.

God bless.

Richard

Leave a Reply

