Why We Don’t Get Healed – Part 3

If you didn’t see the introduction to this post, you can view it here. Once you’ve seen it, let’s get started on listing some more ‘clouds’.

4. Discerning the Body

I wasn’t sure of what this meant at first, so I looked it up to see what I was dealing with. There are loads of ideas of what this means, but here is my understanding of 1 Corinthians 11:28-30 which says, “But let a man examine himself, and so let him eat of the bread and drink of the cup.29 For he who eats and drinks in an unworthy manner eats and drinks judgement to himself, not discerning the Lord’s body. 30 For this reason many are weak and sick among you, and many sleep.”. I think that this is about the body, as in other Christians. How do we treat others? Now before you think that s means that we always have to do what others want, that is not the case. We always have to do what is right. I don’t always want to read my Bible, I never want to fast, I don’t always want to pray. I never want to exercise (just to put a non-spiritual one in there). Why do I do it? Because it is good for me. If we love others as we love ourselves, we should always do what is best for others. If that means confronting them in love, supporting them, teaching them or forgiving them, we need to do it. This is difficult, don’t get me wrong, my ego often gets in the way of this. This is something that I am trying to change. Could this be hindering your healing? How do we value others? Remember, God could use someone else to heal you, if you don’t respect people enough to receive prayer, you may never have the opportunity.

5. Living in Unrepentant, Habitual Sin

Firstly, let me make two things ridiculously clear, I am NOT condemning anyone, not am I passing judgement. I am merely teaching what the scriptures say. Where do they say this, you may be asking. John 5:14 says, “Afterwards Jesus found him in the temple, and said to him, “See, you have been made well. Sin no more, lest a worse thing come upon you.” What else can I say about that? I am not saying that God is punishing you for being sinful, that is old covenant theology, but this is Jesus speaking. Now yes, technically it was still the old covenant (until Jesus rose from the dead), but Jesus would have known that He was going to die and be raised, so why did He say this to the man? I’m not sure, but Jesus said it so I need to take it into consideration. Besides, even if it doesn’t help you get healed, not sinning is going to help you SO much anyway. I know that it is not the case in this Bible story, but there are practical cases where stopping something will help you keep your healing. If I command your lungs to be healed, and they are, should you then maybe stop smoking? I know it is a simple example, but there are times when this makes sense. I don’t fully understand why Jesus said what He said, but I am not about to ignore it just because it may be ‘old covenant’.

6. Demonic Attack

There are generally two camps when it comes to the demonic, those that warn us not to look under every rock for demons (because they are too scared to deal with them) and those that look under every rock fr demons. We need to be in the middle. We need to be focused on God, and doing what He has called us to do, but when the demons attack (like the devil did to Jesus) we need to fight them (with scripture). They are defeated, but they can still cause us to fall if we’re not vigilant. Luke 13:11 – And behold, there was a woman who had a spirit of infirmity eighteen years, and was bent over and could in no way raise herself up. This was demonic, I don’t care what anyone else has to say. It is not unusual to have to deliver someone in order for them to receive healing, but please be aware that I am not saying that all illnesses are caused by demons. As long as we agree that they (illnesses) are not sent by God.

Keep an eye out for more in the next post!

Richard

2 thoughts on “Why We Don’t Get Healed – Part 3

Leave a Reply

