New Life, New Start

Welcome to my first post of 2015, I hope that you have had a wonderful Christmas and an exciting new year.

I don’t usually like jumping on the band wagon and writing about topics that the media almost expect of us, like Christmas, New Year, valentines day etc. This time I do want to write a ‘New Year’ type post, because that is what God has put on my heart to do. I hope that this sets you off on a new adventure with God. If not, I hope that it at least gives you a fresh perspective.

At the end of 2014, my church did a short series called ‘Believe’. I think that this is such an important part of our spiritual walk. The Bible talks so much about faith, believing and trusting. All of these come down to belief. Do you believe? What do you believe? It is not enough to believe in Jesus, we have to believe that what He said (and says through the Spirit) is true. When we believe, our words and actions follow. If there are no words or actions, you should question if you believe. If you say that you believe that the chair will hold your weight, but you refuse to sit in it, do you actually believe? I used to say that I trusted God for my finances, but I didn’t tithe because I though that I couldn’t afford it. Did I really believe? They say that actions speak louder than words, what do your actions say that you believe? Now this is some pretty heavy stuff, and there is so much more to it. I will surely write much more about this in the year ahead, but hopefully this is getting you interested.

The other thing that I am working through at the moment is body, soul and spirit. I’m listening to some Andrew Wommack teaching on it. Very interesting. You can’t listen to this, put it into action, and not have it impact your life. When we are born again, we receive a new spirit. That which raised Jesus from the dead. Now our soul (mind, feelings, emotions etc) and our body is still the old one, but our spirit is new, and like that of Jesus. Perfect. We then spend the rest of our lives trying to get our soul and body into line with our spirit. The more we do this, the more results and breakthroughs we will see. When we receive our new spirit, we are saved, but then it is up to us what we do with it. I’ll go into this in more detail at some stage, but it is very exciting to think that we have the Holy Spirit within us. It is not about getting God to do stuff, but releasing what we already have from God. It is in us, it is now time to let it out. I am on a mission to get my soul and body more in line with my spirit this year. Instead of being driven by my soul and body, I want my spirit in control. This is why Jesus was so successful (that and Him being God and all). This is why we are told to renew our mind. This is why we fast, read the Bible and do just about all other spiritual disciplines.

Even just taking those two points, to be lead by your spirit and get the other two in line, and to believe. If I can even get my head around those two things in 2015, I look forward to huge results, and major breakthroughs. Watch this space. I ask that you join me in doing this, and let me know your testimonies as and when they happen. This is where my journey starts this new year. I believe that God has many good things in store for me this year, and I look forward to walking more in line with my spirit. I’ll try and teach you guys as I learn, so please don’t think that I have this all sorted, but I am on my way. I’ll kick the year off from a look through 1 and 2 Peter, if it helped ‘the Rock’ it should help us.

Keep an eye out for my posts!

One thought on “New Life, New Start

Leave a Reply

