Be The Rock – Part 5

1 Peter chapter 5 is packed with useful lessons, so let’s start straight away and see what it has to say.

The chapter starts off by instructing church elders to look after those who are less experienced. Now I don’t know about you, but I have been in some churches where this is not the case, I have seen church leaders lord it over others. Just like scripture tells them not to. Having said that, it also tells the rest of the church to submit to the leaders. It is easier to lead someone who wants to follow, and it is easier to follow someone who wants to lead as Christ would have us lead. Both of these are important. So if you are a new Christian, find a church with leaders that you respect, and then follow them. If you are an experienced Christian, maybe it is time to step up and lead others? Even if you are not an elder, if you show how you can serve fellow believers, you may become one.

1 Peter 5:6-7 says, “So humble yourselves under the mighty power of God, and at the right time he will lift you up in honour. 7 Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.” Now, before I get myself into trouble, let me say that I am not disagreeing with this scripture, I am merely putting it into context. We are told to humble ourselves under the mighty power of God, not humble ourselves under our circumstances. Let me explain. Going around saying how useless you are and that you can’t do anything unless God does it for you, is not what this is talking about. You see so many Christians use ‘humility’ as an excuse not to do anything. We are made new when we accept Jesus as our saviour, we are a new creation, and God will use us for amazing things if we let Him. Humble yourself to God, but stand against anything else in the name of Jesus. With authority and power. We now have the Holy Spirit, we are anything but weak! As for verse 7. Do you give all of your worries to God? I don’t. This is something that I have to make a decision to do every single day, it does not come naturally. It is such a freeing feeling when you do though, try and join me in doing more of this.

Take a look at verse 8 and 9. This is what I was talking about. The devil and his helpers are out and about trying to ‘devour’ us. We are told to stand firmly against him. No humility here. You see we often get it wrong, I have heard people humble themselves to the point of not wanting to stand against the demonic. The Bible tells us the opposite. We need to stand up to evil, with confidence, faith and power. The problem is that we don’t know how to do this, because we don’t spend enough time studying the Word. This scripture says be strong in your faith. Faith comes from hearing the Word. You want faith? Study scripture. Don’t just read it, study it. I know that it is hard, I struggle to get down to it too. This blog helps me to be disciplined, because if I don’t study it, I can’t teach it. I don’t find it easy, but I know how important it is.

This is the final post from 1 Peter, I’ll move onto 2 Peter next. Once that is done, I’ll see what God wants me to tackle next. If you have any suggestions on what you would like to hear about, or if I have said anything that you want me to discuss in more details, let me know via Google +.

I’ll leave you with part of Peter’s final greeting:

My purpose in writing is to encourage you and assure you that what you are experiencing is truly part of God’s grace for you. Stand firm in this grace.

Peace be with all of you who are in Christ.

Richard

One thought on “Be The Rock – Part 5

  1. Thank you for sharing. I find spending some time listening to worship before getting into the word prepares my heart. God’s rest is the greatest weapon against the enemy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

