Hebrews & Us – Part 11

Hebrews 11 is one of my favourite chapters of the Bible, I usually copy and paste a few verses to focus on, but this time I would have had to copy and paste the whole chapter. Please read it. What is it all about? What was the catalyst to see all of the great things that these people of God have achieved? FAITH. Yes, faith. I have heard people say that faith merely a fruit of following God, but it is more that that. We have a choice, and we need to choose to have faith. What is faith? Here is what it says in verse 1. Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.

God used this to create the earth, Noah used this to build the arc, Abraham and Sarah used this to be able to have a child. The list goes on, even the Bible says that there are too many accounts to list. Faith. Having confidence what what we hope for will actually happen, assurance about things we can’t see. What do you need to have faith for? I have required faith over the last few year, immigrating from South Africa to the UK, starting a business, a few health issues. There have been times when my faith has been swaying in the wind, but I am always learning, and I am become more determined to have faith by the day. It is a choice. If you know what the Word of God says, but you also have expectations of what ‘could happen’ based on previous experiences, which one do you believe? Faith, is stubbornly believing what the Bible says, over what everything else may be telling you. It is a choice, and it is as simple as that. Simple to understand, not necessarily to do.

The other thing about faith, is that it doesn’t always produce fruit immediately. We often associate faith with healing, if you believe, someone will get healed there and then. What about Abraham? How long did he and Sarah have to have faith before they had a child? What if that happened to you today? We now have scans and technology to tell us ‘what is wrong’, but do we then believe that over the Word of God? I personally refuse to believe what Doctors tell me when it comes to my health. Yes if they say that I have an illness, I don’t ignore them, but when they say that my blood pressure will ‘never come down’ because it is hereditary. This I ignore. They told me this, and it did come down. It took months, but I refused to stop believing in the Word of God, even when it went against the conclusion of doctors. Now we need to be responsible, I continued to take my medication, but each day I spoke healing over myself. I continued to believe that my blood pressure would come down. I only came off the medication when the nurse said that I should. I’m not talking about being irresponsible, I am merely saying that I will continue to believe God’s Word over what people say.

As for my business, I have been advised not to do what I do as some say that there is ‘no money in it’. When I started it, it appeared that they were right, but what does God say? The Bible says that we need to give (tithes and offerings) and then we will see an overflow returned to us. We need to be generous. It is not easy when you have a very limited income, I can tell you. My wife and I decided to press on in faith. We chose to believe what God was saying, and not what our bank balance and ‘logic’ would suggest. We are only now seeing a breakthrough on this front, after almost 3 years! And let me tell you, this is only the beginning, it is going to get SO much better. Why? It it because of my superior business skills? Despite what I may often suggest, no it isn’t. It is because I continue to believe God’s Word over my circumstances.

I’ll leave you with this. The disciples on the boat when the storm picked up, forgot that Jesus said that they would go to the other side. They focussed on the storm instead, they combined their ‘logic’ with their surroundings and made the choice to panic. Would any of us have been any different? Jesus rebuked them for this lack of faith. We need to make an effort to know, believe, and then expect to see the Word of God fulfilled in our lives.

Make the choice, one step at a time.

Richard

Leave a Reply

