Turn Unbelief into Faith by Switching Your Sentence Around

What goes before and after your but? That is the question for today. Does it make sense? Once you have read this blog post, I hope that it not only makes sense, but makes a difference.

I have often taught on healing, I have quite an extreme view on it, and I take quite a lot of verbal abuse from Christians. People are constantly trying to convince me that God doesn’t always heal, and that it is sometimes His will that people are ill. As far as I am concerned, this is complete rubbish, and I will not let their views change me. Having said this, I do get some constructive questions, and one of them is the following. How do you balance the physical ‘reality’ of your situation and the spiritual ‘reality’ of what the Bible says? Both are a ‘reality’ but both are also not. Let me explain. The physical reality is that I wear glasses, as I am short sighted. The spiritual reality is that Jesus died for my healing, and it is God’s will that I see properly. There is no reason why I shouldn’t receive my healing and throw the glasses away.

When I teach about healing, it always goes hand in hand with faith. We know that it is faith that facilitates our healing, and we also know that unbelief will oppose or even prevent our healing. We also know that the power of life and death is in the tongue. We know the importance of speaking healing into our lives, and we know the importance of speaking the right words. Positive words. Having said this, I can’t go around saying that I don’t need glasses and that I can see perfectly. That would be a lie in the physical, and would confuse people. I also won’t walk around saying how bad my eyes are and that I can’t see without glasses. That is not faith. So how do we balance the two? We say both, but we need to be careful what comes before and after our but. Make sense?

When we make a statement with two parts, separated with a ‘but’, the second part is ‘more true’. Think about it. I went to the park expecting sunshine, but it rained. Both halves of the statement are true, but the latter half trumps the first and therefore is seen as the greater truth. So let’s look at my situation in this light. I can say it one of two ways. I am healed by Jesus and I believe that I will receive full sight, but I am short sighted and I need to wear glasses. How are you left feeling after this statement? I am left feeling negative, yes there is a positive statement, but it is overshadowed by the ending negative one. I think that statement speaks more unbelief than belief. Having said that, this is how I hear many Christians responding. I also hear most non-Christian people talking like this (although they may not mention Jesus). Let’s take the same sentence, and just switch it around. I am short sighted and I need to wear glasses, but I am healed by Jesus and I believe that I will receive full sight. How does that leave you feeling? Much more positive I trust, it makes me more positive. The two comments are both true in a sense. I am short sighted at the moment, in the physical. I am also healed in the spiritual, and I do believe that my healing will manifest in the physical. The statements do seem to contradict each other, but they can both be put in a sentence together. The only question is which one goes before the ‘but’, and which one goes after? Which one is more true to you? Which one do you think will prevail? That is the question. The one that you believe to be ‘more true’ will be after the but. Will your belief be ‘more true’ or your unbelief? Will your negative physical ‘reality’ be ‘more true’ or will your positive spiritual ‘reality’ be the greater truth? Which one will come after your ‘but’?

I will leave you to think about that. I will leave you to think about what you actually believe, and how you will structure your sentences to show that belief. It sounds like such a simple thing, but if the power of life and death is actually in the tongue, it will make a massive difference. The other thing is how it leaves you feeling. The negative way of saying the statement will leave you negative and add unbelief. The positive way will leave you feeling positive, and speak belief.

What goes before and after your ‘but’?

Richard

Leave a Reply

