How Would You Answer Jesus?

I heard a very refreshing sermon today, so I thought that I would share the key points with you. It was about the lame man, who was waiting at the pool, trying to get healed. Here is the passage, take a look.

John 5 v 6-8. When Jesus saw him and knew he had been ill for a long time, he asked him, “Would you like to get well?”

“I can’t, sir,” the sick man said, “for I have no one to put me into the pool when the water bubbles up. Someone else always gets there ahead of me.”

Jesus told him, “Stand up, pick up your mat, and walk!”

Here we have a classic response to Jesus, which sadly most of us have today. It is a dangerous response because it shows unbelief, which we find in other scripture caused Jesus not to be able to do miracles. Why do we do this? Put yourself in this man’s place. You have been sitting there for years, you have seen people get healed, but only those who get into the pool first when the water is stirred. You can’t get into the pool because you are paralysed. That is the only way you know to get healed, and it is unobtainable.

Then Jesus comes along. He asks a simple question. “Would you like to get well?” You reply to Jesus in the natural, the only way you understand. You start telling Him why you cant achieve it, you start telling him your problems. He is not asking about your problems, He’s asking you if you want the solution. In this case, Jesus heals the man. What about your case? When you read scripture about healing, what is your response? When someone approaches you and wants to minister to you, what is your response?

I have actually had people come up to me and ask for prayer, and then they go on to tell me why my prayer won’t work. They ask for healing, then they tell my why they won’t actually get healed. They tell me what the doctors said, how they feel, what they have read on the internet, and what others have said. I am not concerned about that, I believe that God wants them healed, and I believe they can receive that healing. They often don’t think that though, sometimes I have to convince them.

So I am not going to drag this out any longer, I just want to ask you some questions. What is your response to Jesus’ question? Do you believe that you will receive your healing, or are you giving God all of the excuses as to why you won’t?

Think about it and make the change if you need to.

Richard

Leave a Reply

