Why We Don’t Get Healed – Part 2

If you didn’t see the introduction to this post, you can view it here. Once you’ve seen it, let’s get started on listing the ‘clouds’.

1. Lack of Knowledge

Hosea 4:6 says, “My people are being destroyed because they don’t know me.” But before you complain that I have taken this out of context, it is explained in even more detail in 2 Peter 1:2, which says, “May God give you more and more grace and peace as you grow in your knowledge of God and Jesus our Lord.” I’m sure that we can all agree that healing would fall under God’s grace, and here it shows that God will show us more grace as we grow in knowledge. Lack of knowledge will see us miss out. In Acts 14 v 8-10, Paul is teaching, and when he realises that the person has the faith to be healed, he heals him. Not before. Faith comes from hearing the Word (Romans 10:17). This means that reading scripture, listening to teaching, meditating on the Word, will build faith. A lack of faith (this knowledge), may see you miss out on healing. If you want to be healed, get out the scriptures about healing, and meditate on them until you know them backwards.

2. Misunderstanding of Law & Grace

Romans 4:15 says that the law always brings punishment on those who try to obey it. We are no longer under the law, we are under grace. This does not mean that God has changed His mind, it just means that Jesus has done a good job. Some of the ‘rules of the Law’ were based on pre-law principals, so they are still valid, except the punishments are no longer valid. Jesus took that punishment for us. Illness is a curse, we are no longer subject to the curse. Galatians 3:13 says, “But Christ has rescued us from the curse pronounced by the law. When he was hung on the cross, he took upon himself the curse for our wrongdoing. For it is written in the Scriptures, “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a tree.” God may use our illness to teach us something, but He does not give us the illness, nor does He want us to have it. I believe that He may use the illness, because He makes the best of the situation, but He wants us to be well. We need to understand this.

3. Traditions of Men

Mark 7:17 starts with, “Their worship is a farce, for they teach man-made ideas as commands from God.’ For you ignore God’s law and substitute your own tradition.” This is a huge problem as far as I am concerned. So many people have their ideas about healing, and there are so many different ideas out there. The most common one seems to be that God heals when He wants to. This is not biblical. People use things like Paul’s thorn and Timothy’s upset stomach to try and justify that fact that we all have to put up with illness. This is not the case. I don’t believe that Paul’s thorn was illness (read more about that here), and Timothy’s stomach issue could have been anything. This does not justify our illness. People try and manipulate the scripture to suit what they see and experience. People then believe what they are told, and therefore believe a lie. We need to be aware of this. I wear glasses, but I believe that God wants me to have perfect eye sight. I could go and justify my eyesight by manipulating scripture, but that is not the truth. The truth is that I have not received my healing yet, because of something that is wrong here on earth. God does not want me to be short sighted. I will keep on doing all that I can in order to see God’s Kingdom break through here on earth. Instead of lowering the Bible to your expectations, why not lift your expectations to the Bible?

So there are the first 3 points of this series. This is post 2 of 5, keep an eye out for the next one.

Richard

5 thoughts on “Why We Don’t Get Healed – Part 2

  1. Under your second heading (2. Understanding Law and Grace) you seem to imply that the Law no longer matters, yet in John 15:10 Christ clearly stated (and it is stated elsewhere in Scripture) that we still must abide in His commands (with the understanding, as has been the case throughout all the Bible, that it is G-d keeping the commands for us, through us, and not us trying to do it in our own strength).

    I’m confused as to why you think the Law no longer applies (I’d say the only thing that didn’t apply is our execution of punishment, as our ‘justice’ is severely lacking).

    Like

    1. Thanks for the fair comment, maybe I was not clear, that is not what I meant at all.. Let me explain..

      I come across many people who think that God dishes out illness as punishment for our sins, and that we are still under the curse of the law (as far as illness is concerned). I was merely trying to make the point that Jesus took that curse for us and we have been healed by his stripes. I think our view toward sickness should be different from the views of those in the old covenant. I hope that makes more sense.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. If our expectations are in line with scripture, then our experience needs to change. If scripture says that we have the authority to heal, yet when we try it and it doesn’t appear to work, either scripture is a lie or we just haven’t got it right yet.

      I encourage us all to keep trying and keep learning, until our scripture-based expectations and our experiences marry up. We may never get there 100%, but this is what I am striving for. I refuse to change my belief (based on what the Bible says) just because I don’t see it happening in my life. I am trying to change my life to match what I believe.

      I hope this makes more sense.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.